Boards & Commissions

The Board of Supervisors is always looking for people interested in serving their community.

Volunteer for a Board/Commission

Board of Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment holds hearings and issues decisions on applications for special use permits, variances from the requirements of the zoning ordinance, and appeals of decisions by the Zoning Administrator. The Board of Adjustment has the final say on matters in which it has jurisdiction. The board is comprised of 5 citizens, appointed by the Board of Supervisors for 5 year terms. Meetings are held monthly. For more information, visit the Board of Adjustment page.

Mary Ann Aslakson
Term Ends: 6/30/26
Term Length: 5 Years
Tuyanh Dang
Term Ends: 6/30/27
Term Length: 5 Years
Andrew Kumpf
Term Ends: 6/30/25
Term Length: 5 Years
Charlie Norris
Term Ends: 6/30/28
Term Length: 5 Years
Steve Siemers
Term Ends: 6/30/24
Term Length: 5 Years

Board of Health

One member of the Board of Health must be a doctor. The Board is responsible for policy and program direction for public health services offered by the county. Services include environmental health, disease prevention and investigation, public health nursing, health planning and development, health promotion and education, public health preparedness, and home care services. Meetings are held monthly. For more information, log on to

Civil Service Commission

The Cerro Gordo County Civil Service Commission oversees the Civil Service testing for potential deputy sheriffs including written tests, physical agility testing, and psychological testing. The Commission hears appeals made by covered employees concerning employment decisions and also oversees the Civil Service Commissions budget and appoints the Civil Service Clerk. A complete list of responsibilities can be found under Iowa Code Section 341A.

Condemnation Compensation Commission

This commission consists of no less than 28 residents of Cerro Gordo County. One-fourth must be owneroperators of agricultural property; one-fourth must be owners of property inside the city limits of a municipality; one-fourth must be licensed real estate brokers or salespersons; and one-fourth must be persons having knowledge of property values in the county by reason of their occupation such as bankers, auctioneers, property managers, property appraisers, and persons responsible for making loans on property. The Chief Judge of the judicial district selects by lot from the list to form a compensation commission. This commission is responsible for assessing the damages to all property to be taken by a local government for an improvement or other purpose.

Conservation Board

The Conservation Board consists of five county residents, from different regions of the county, appointed by the County Supervisors. Board members serve five-year terms. These appointed members donate their time and work with the CGCCB staff to further conservation within Cerro Gordo County. Meetings are held on the third Tuesday of each month. For more information, visit the Conservation Board page.

Dudley Humphrey, Chair
Jim Roseland, Vice-Chair
Jacqueline Arthur, Secretary/Treasurer
Shannon Anderson
Steve Gales

Emergency Management Commission

Lori Meacham-Ginapp
Bennett Smith
Kevin Pals
Lynn Nagel
Will Symonds
Richard Miller
Amy Berding
Tim Dodd
Larry Wentz
Randy Meyer, Alternate
Laura Starbuck
Mike Jensen
Brad Willman, Alternate
Joe Schmit
Daryl Heinemann, Alternate

North Iowa Regional Housing Authority Board of Commissioners

The North Iowa Regional Housing Authority assists low-income families, seniors, and individuals with disabilities with decent, safe, and affordable housing opportunities across an eight-county jurisdiction in northern Iowa. The responsibility of the Board is to establish policies, long-term goals, and budgets and employ an Executive Director to manage daily operations. Commissioners meet on the third Tuesday of each month to approve contracts, policies and payment of bills.

Planning and Zoning Commission

This commission acts as an advisory body to the Board of Supervisors. The commission hears and makes recommendations on proposed subdivision plats, rezoning requests, street vacations, controlled access requests, and proposed changes to the zoning ordinance and other land use ordinances. Meetings are held on the first Thursday of each month. For more information visit the Planning & Zoning Commission page.

Scott Bultje
Term Ends: 12/31/26
Term Length: 5 Years
Jon Caspers
Term Ends: 12/31/27
Term Length: 5 Years
John Eighmey
Term Ends: 12/31/28
Term Length: 5 Years
Marilee Jones
Term Ends: 12/31/25
Term Length: 5 Years
Heidi Marquardt
Term Ends: 12/31/24
Term Length: 5 Years

Veteran Affairs Commission

Members of the Commission on Veterans Affairs must be veterans, preferably of different wars. The commission is responsible for approving payments for relief provided to veterans by office staff. Office staff is supervised by the commission. Meetings are held monthly. For more information, visit the Veteran Affairs Commission page.

Jessica Reith
Richard Ochoa
Cindy Davis
Cecil Foell
Daryl Johnson

County Courthouse

220 N. Washington Ave.
Mason City, IA 50401
Contact · Report a Concern

Courthouse Hours

M-F 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Closed Holidays
Department Hours May Vary